Shelf Control: Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Bookshelf Fantasies is hosting a new weekly feature called Shelf Control! It’s all about books we already own, whether it be physical or digital, and finding things to read without rushing out to buy new books all the time. So many TBR posts are about upcoming or new titles—I thought it was interesting to focus on appreciating the things we already own (I really don’t need to spend more money and/or have the space for more books 😛 ).

My pick for this week is:

Title: Rebecca

Author: Daphne du Maurier

Date Published: 1938

Format: Paperback {own}

What it’s about? {synopsis via Goodreads}

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . .”
The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady’s maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his massive country estate that she realizes how large a shadow his late wife will cast over their lives–presenting her with a lingering evil that threatens to destroy their marriage from beyond the grave.

How I got it?

I purchased it.

When I got it?

At least 4 years ago.

Why I want to read it?

There is no justifiable reason for me not to have read this book already. It’s been adapted to film by Hitchcock and is one of my favorite movies of all time. They always say that the book is better, which would be tough in this case, but even if it’s not, I’ll still probably adore it! Halloween is coming up and it’s a gothic mystery novel, so it’s a good time to rectify this mistake. 🎃

Do you have any books already on your shelf that you want to read?

2 comments

  1. What a great choice! I just re-read Rebecca last summer for the first time in at least 15 years, and I was so surprised by how much I either didn’t remember or only partially remembered. It was so great to read it again — but I’ve never seen the movie! It sounds like I should make an effort to track it down. I hope you get to read this soon!

Leave a Reply

