Top Ten: Classic Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a blog meme hosted over at the Broke and the Bookish every week! This week the topic is classic books. You can either list your favorites or ones that are on your to-read list. Since I am indecisive, I’ve decided to do a mixture of both! The first five will be my favorites and the following five are books that I’m hoping I’ll enjoy.

ooooo

Five Favorite Classics:

1. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

ooooo

2. Macbeth, William Shakespeare

ooooo

3. One Thousand and One Arabian Nights

ooooo

4. The Hobbit, J.R.R. Toliken

ooooo

5. The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett

ooooo

Five Classics I Need to Read:

1. Frankenstein, Mary Shelley

ooooo

2. Cien Años de Soledad (One Hundred Years of Solitude), Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez

{I’m fluent in Spanish, so I keep telling myself to read more in Spanish. I think this is a good one to do that!}

ooooo

3. The Phantom of the Opera, Gaston Leroux

ooooo

4. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier

ooooo

5. The Once and Future King, T.H. White

ooooo

What are some of your favorite classics and/or ones you need to read? 😀

10 comments

  1. Excellent list–I’m a long-time fan of P&P myself, as well as The Secret Garden and Macbeth.

    You are in for some excellent reading treats. Rebecca is truly amazing–thrilling, creepy, and so cleverly written. The Once and Future King is also great fun. It’s been so long since I read One Hundred Years of Solitude that’s now on my reread list.

    Happy reading!

    1. Thanks so much! 😀

      I love the Rebecca film, so I can imagine that the novel is even better! And The Once and Future King is one that I keep meaning to read, but things keep sneaking ahead of it on my TBR list. I’m glad to hear you liked it!

      Happy reading to you too!

  2. Hello! I love your lists, and I had totally forgotten about Macbeth and how much I loved it in high school! On your to-read, I suggest Rebecca, the language and description is amazing. The plot isn’t bad as well. 🙂

  3. Great choices. I love The Hobbit and The Secret Garden. I probably should re-read The Once and Future King, it’s been so long since I read it and I do love the Arthurian myths. And I want to read Phantom of the Opera; I should have put that on my list! As for Macbeth, well… I have other favorites when it comes to Shakespeare, but that is certainly a great play!

    1. Haha I feel like everyone likes different Shakespeare plays! They’re all pretty awesome, so it’s hard to justify why you like one more than the other 😛

Leave a Reply

