May Mini-Reviews

May was a busy month for me! I did a lot of traveling, which is always awesome, but I haven’t had much of a schedule because of it. My reading has been a bit all over the place this month, but I did manage to get some books off of my TBR list that had been sitting there for far too long. Hopefully June will be more normal and I can actually get some posts up!

1. Red Rising, Pierce Brown

This book was so much fun. I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did, and I went into it with pretty high expectations. Darrow, the lead character, has a pretty awful life as a Red (the lowest class of their intergalactic society). After some super tragic stuff goes down, he gets recruited by a group of rebels to bring down their government. To do so he has to infiltrate the Golds (the top of the caste system) and try to bring them down from the inside. The first part of the book was a little slow to me, but once it gets going… it doesn’t stop. I stayed up til like 4am finishing it and I don’t regret it one bit!  {4.5/5 stars}

2. These Broken Stars, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

This book was okay. It was an interesting idea, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. It a story about a pair of teenagers traveling on a huge spaceship across the galaxy. She is a spoiled heiress and he is a war hero, and obviously they would never be allowed to be together. But when the ship crashes on a mysterious planet, they are the only survivors; so they must learn to get along and work together to find rescue. The problem I had was that I really didn’t care too much for the characters– the soldier was bland and the heiress was so grating. But it was well written and did have some lovely moments. I’ll probably pick up the sequel (if I’m not mistaken it involves different people, woohoo!). {3/5 stars}

3. The Mapmaker’s War, Ronlyn Domingue

This is another case of me having a problem with the protagonist, but Aoife was way worse than either of the kids in These Broken Stars. She made me angry. She was such a petulant, unhappy woman; I was just so done with her and her problems by the time I finished the book. Now that I’m looking back, I really don’t know why I finished the book. I would try to describe the plot, but nothing really stuck with me. I feel like even though things happened in the book, I never really felt invested in the story. The world Domingue built was very interesting and she is definitely a talented writer,  but things like the second-person point of view structure felt like she was trying too hard to make her work feel “different” or “literary.”  {2/5 stars}

4. Parallel, Lauren Miller

This was a fun, little book! It’s about a girl who wakes up one day with a completely different life. She was starring in a big, action movie and then next thing she knows she’s a freshman at Yale. It turns out that some strange cosmic event caused two different timelines to collide, and now she has to figure out what to do with her new reality. It does get a little science-y in parts (which is always fun for me :P), but never dry or boring. I really enjoyed this one. I think it would be a great beach read! {4/5 stars}

5. Words of Radiance (Stormlight Archive #2), Brandon Sanderson

I really loved this book. It’s so freaking huge; It’s 1000+ pages in hardcover, but I can honestly say it never got boring! I won’t get too much into the plot– it’s the second book in a series, and it’s hard to talk about it without spoiling everything. But I really do want to recommend this series to anyone looking for an outstanding epic fantasy series. The world is very different from all the others out there and the characters are nuanced and likable (well, at least when they have to be). If you’re anything like me, you’ll stay up way too late to see what happens to them. Just read it, I think y’all will like it 🙂 {5/5 stars}

What did you guys read in May? What was your favorite or least favorite book? 😀

2 comments

Leave a Reply

