March Mini-Reviews

This is an idea I stole from my friend Emily over at Darling Bibliophile! 😛 This is a way for me to let you all know all the books I’ve read this month! They will just be short little reviews, quickly describing how I felt about the books.

This was a crazy, busy month for me. I was swamped with projects, papers, and visitors. I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked, but hopefully I have a bit more time for my books in April!

1. Kushiel’s Dart, Jacqueline Carey

I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Phèdre, the protagonist, is a courtesan who is marked by scarlet mote in her eye. This is a sign from Kushiel (one of the figures from their intricate religion) and it means that she feels pain as pleasure. This story sounds much more naughty then it actually is. There are explicit scenes, but nothing that you cannot find in other adult fantasy novels.  The world is beautifully crafted and the story is quite unlike many of the other epic fantasies out there. {4/5 stars}

2. Shiver, Maggie Stiefvater

This book was really boring. It’s a love story between a girl and a werewolf, and I really just didn’t care. Stiefvater’s werewolves were very interesting– they turn into wolves when it’s cold out and as they get older that time expands and eventually they stay wolves forever and that’s sad.  The characters aren’t very likable. The two leads have a love at first sight moment, which is fine and all, but this all happened when one of them was a wolf… I’m not too into romance-y books and this was no exception. {2/5 stars}

3. The Archived, Victoria Schwab

I’ve already rambled about this book at length. I wasn’t a big fan of this one . I guess I didn’t have a good YA month this March. Check out my review here. {2.5/5 stars}

4. A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent, Marie Brennan

I went into this book knowing that it was more a memoir than a book about dragons, and it really added to my enjoyment of it. The cover is beautiful, but a little misleading. It has a dragon drawn in a scientific fashion; many people thought this book would focus much more on dragons and their characteristics, anatomy, and whatnot. It’s really a story about how a woman becomes a scholar and scientist in a setting equivalent to Victorian England. I liked it, didn’t love it, and I am very excited to read the sequel (where there will hopefully be much more about the dragons).  {3.5/5 stars}

What did you read in March?

4 comments

  1. There’s a community of editors and book reviewers on the internet who have declared this the Year of Reading Women. I’m not going to be too strict about it, but I did realize I read far too few women authors, so I’ve made it a point to read ten novels by women in a row. So far I’ve read Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy, Shadow Tag by Louise Ehrdrich, The Vagabond by Collette, and I just today finished reading The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula LeGuin. Have you read that one yet?? It seems like something you might enjoy!
    -Allison

    1. That’s an amazing idea! Now that I think about it I’ve read quite a few books by women this year. I have noticed that NYT book review and the like are heavily skewed toward male authors, and while I love some of those books, it is important to have some variety in your reading.

      Is there an official page or something for the Year of Reading Women? 🙂

      1. Thanks for that!

        I have read The Handmaid’s Tale, but I really need to read it again, it’s been forever! I need to read some more of her stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

